September 29, 2022

More than three quarters of Torys partners recognized in the 2023 Chambers Canada guide

We are proud to share that 78% of our Canadian partners have been ranked in the 2023 edition of Chambers Canada

This year, 30 practice areas were ranked by the publication. Recognizing the firm’s exceptional strength and high caliber service offerings both regionally and nationally, 12 practice groups received Band 1 rankings in the following areas:

The Chambers Canada guide is based on comprehensive research of lawyers and law firms practicing nationwide. The annual guide recommends individuals and firms from more than 49 specialist practice areas. You can learn more about the methodology process and find additional details for this list on Chambers Canada’s website.

A full list of Torys’ recognized lawyers is below.

Aboriginal Law

Valerie Helbronner
The Honourable Frank Iacobucci

Banking & Finance

Amanda C. Balasubramanian
Adam E. Delean
Kevin A. Fougere
Tom Zverina

Banking & Finance: Financial Services Regulation

Blair W. Keefe
Eli Monas

Cannabis Law

Eileen M. McMahon

Capital Markets: Debt & Equity

Scott Cochlan
Glen R. Johnson
Rima Ramchandani
David Seville

Capital Markets: Securitisation

Michael K. Feldman
Jim S. Hong

Competition / Antitrust

Dany H. Assaf
Ian Li
Omar Wakil

Competition / Antitrust: Litigators 

Linda M. Plumpton

Corporate / Commercial: Alberta

Jennifer Baugh
Neville Jugnauth
Janan Paskaran
Michel Pedlow
Stephanie Stimpson

Corporate / Commercial: Ontario

(Ricco) A.S. Bhasin
Matthew W. Cockburn
Adrienne DiPaolo
John Emanoilidis
Karrin Powys-Lybbe

Dispute Resolution: Arbitration

John A. Terry

Dispute Resolution: Class Action (Defence)

Matthew Angelus
William McNamara
Linda M. Plumpton
Sylvie Rodrigue, Ad. E.
Sarah Whitmore

Dispute Resolution: Mediators

The Honourable Frank Iacobucci

Employment & Labour

Darryl Hiscocks
Lisa Talbot

Energy & Natural Resources: Mining

Michael Amm
Braden Jebson
Michael Pickersgill

Energy: Oil & Gas (Transactional)

Chris Christopher
David Cuschieri
Peter Danner
Derek S. Flaman

Energy: Power (Regulatory)

Luigi Cusano
Charles Keizer
Jonathan Myers

Energy: Power (Transactional)

Valerie Helbronner
Krista F. Hill


Tyson Dyck
Michael Fortier
Dennis E. Mahony

Information Technology

Adam S. Armstrong
Ebad Rahman
Joel Ramsey

Insurance: Transactional & Regulatory

Blair W. Keefe
Jill McCutcheon
Kelly Morris

Intellectual Property

Edward Fan
Eileen M. McMahon
Michelle Nelles

Intellectual Property: Litigation

Andrew E. Bernstein
Yael Bienenstock
Andrew M. Shaughnessy

International Trade / WTO

John A. Terry

Investment Funds

Shannon Gotfrit

Investment Funds: Fund Formation

Shannon Gotfrit
Cameron Koziskie
Bernard Kwasniewski

Life Sciences: Corporate / Commercial

Cheryl V. Reicin

Life Sciences: Regulatory / Compliance 

Eileen M. McMahon
Teresa Reguly

Litigation: General Commercial (Ontario)

Andrew Bernstein
Sheila R. Block
Gillian Dingle
Linda M. Plumpton
James C. Tory

Litigation: General Commercial (Québec)

Christopher Richter

Litigation: Product Liability

Sylvie Rodrigue, Ad. E.
William McNamara
Grant Worden

Litigation: Securities

Gillian Dingle
John Fabello
Andrew Gray

Pensions & Benefits

Mitch Frazer
Susan Nickerson
Tom Stevenson

Privacy & Data Protection

Julie Himo
Molly Reynolds
Nic Wall

Private Equity: Buyouts

Michael Akkawi
Guy Berman
Matthew W. Cockburn
Laurie Duke
Danielle Traub

Project Finance

Scott A. Kraag

Projects: PPP & Infrastructure

Mark W.S. Bain
Josh Van Deurzen

Real Estate: Nationwide

David A. Dell

Real Estate: Ontario

Rose Bailey
David A. Dell
Sabrina A. Gherbaz
Graham Rawlinson
Charlene Schafer


Simon Knowling
Robbie Leibel
Michael Zackheim


David Bish
Scott A. Bomhof
Tony DeMarinis
Adam Slavens


Corrado Cardarelli
Craig Maurice
John J. Tobin
Gwen Watson
Andrew Wong
Jerald M. Wortsman

Tax: Litigation
Martha MacDonald

Press Contact

Richard Coombs | Senior Manager, Marketing

Subscribe and stay informed

Stay in the know. Get the latest commentary, updates and insights for business from Torys.

Subscribe Now