Torys’ leading lawyers recognized at the 2021 Chambers Canada Awards and in the 2022 Chambers Canada guide

September 10, 2021

Torys’ leading lawyers continue to be celebrated at the Chambers Canada Awards and achieve top rankings in the Chambers Canada guide.

We are proud to announce that partner and chair of our Litigation and Dispute Resolution practice Linda Plumpton has been named Litigator of the Year at the 2021 Chambers Canada Awards, demonstrating her outstanding knowledge in competition litigation, class action defence, corporate/commercial disputes and securities litigation.

In addition, we are delighted to share that partner and chair of the firm’s Intellectual Property and Food and Drug Regulatory practice Eileen McMahon has been recognized in the 2022 edition of Chambers Canada as the only Star Individual in the category of Life Sciences: Regulatory/Compliance. This achievement is a testimony to her reputation as one of Canada's foremost life sciences lawyers and go-to professional by many major pharmaceutical companies.

Recognizing the firm’s exceptional strength and high caliber service offerings both regionally and nationally, 11 Torys practice groups also received Band 1 rankings in the following areas:

  • Banking & Finance: Financial Services Regulation
  • Corporate/Commercial: The Elite (Ontario)
  • Corporate/M&A
  • Dispute Resolution: Class Actions (Defence)
  • Energy: Power
  • Insurance: Transactional & Regulatory
  • Investment Funds: Fund Formation
  • Life Sciences
  • Litigation General/Commercial: Ontario
  • Private Equity: Buyouts & Venture Capital Investment
  • REITs

The firm continues to lead the way with 74% of our Canadian partners being recognized in the 2022 Chambers Canada guide—the highest percentage among Canada’s leading law firms. This year, 105 of our lawyers were ranked in the publication.

A full list of Torys’ recognized lawyers is below.

Aboriginal Law
The Honourable Frank Iacobucci CC, QC, LLD, LSM
Valerie Helbronner

Banking & Finance
Amanda C. Balasubramanian
Adam E. Delean
Kevin A. Fougere
Tom Zverina

Banking & Finance: Financial Services Regulation
Blair W. Keefe
Eli Monas

Cannabis Law
Eileen M. McMahon

Capital Markets: Debt & Equity
Scott R. Cochlan
Glen R. Johnson
Rima Ramchandani

Capital Markets: Securitisation
Michael K. Feldman
Jim S. Hong

Dany H. Assaf
Omar Wakil

Competition/Antitrust: Litigators
Linda M. Plumpton

Corporate/Commercial: Alberta
Janan Paskaran
Neville Jugnauth
Stephanie Stimpson

Corporate/Commercial: Ontario
Ricco Bhasin
Matthew W. Cockburn
John Emanoilidis
Karrin Powys-Lybbe

Dispute Resolution: Arbitration
John A. Terry

Dispute Resolution: Class Action (Defence)
Sheila R. Block
Patricia D. S. Jackson
William McNamara
Linda M. Plumpton
Sylvie Rodrigue, Ad. E.

Employment & Labour
Lisa Talbot

Energy & Natural Resources: Mining
Michael D. Amm
Michael Pickersgill

Energy: Oil & Gas (Transactional)
Chris Christopher 
David Cuschieri
Derek Flaman

Energy: Power (Regulatory)
Luigi Cusano
Charles Keizer

Energy: Power (Transactional)
Valerie Helbronner
Krista F. Hill

Tyson Dyck
Michael J. Fortier
Dennis E. Mahony

Information Technology
Adam S. Armstrong
Ebad Rahman
Joel Ramsey

Insurance: Transactional & Regulatory
Blair W. Keefe
Jill McCutcheon

Intellectual Property
Edward Fan
Eileen M. McMahon
Michelle Nelles

Intellectual Property: Litigation
Andrew Bernstein
Andrew M. Shaughnessy
Yael Bienenstock

International Trade/WTO
John A. Terry

Investment Funds: Fund Formation
Jamie Becker
Shannon Gotfrit
Cameron Koziskie
Bernard Kwasniewski

Life Sciences: Corporate/Commercial
Cheryl V. Reicin

Life Sciences: Regulatory/Compliance
Eileen M. McMahon
Teresa A. Reguly

Litigation: Ontario
Andrew Bernstein
Sheila R. Block
Patricia D. S. Jackson
Linda M. Plumpton
James C. Tory

Litigation: Québec
Christopher Richter

Litigation: Product Liability
Grant Worden
Sylvie Rodrigue, Ad. E.
William McNamara

Litigation: Securities 
Gillian Dingle
John Fabello
Andrew Gray

Pensions & Benefits
Scott Bell
Mitch Frazer
Susan Nickerson
Tom Stevenson

Privacy Data Protection
Molly Reynolds

Private Equity: Buyouts
Michael F. E. Akkawi
Guy Berman
Matthew W. Cockburn
Laurie N. Duke

Project Finance
Scott A. Kraag

Projects: PPP
Mark W. S. Bain
Josh Van Deurzen

Real Estate: Ontario
Rose Bailey
David A. Dell
Sabrina A. Gherbaz
Graham Rawlinson
Charlene Schafer

Real Estate: Nationwide
David A. Dell

Simon C. Knowling
Michael Zackheim

David Bish
Scott A. Bomhof
Tony DeMarinis
Adam Slavens

Corrado Cardarelli
Craig Maurice
Gwen Watson
Jerald M. Wortsman
John Tobin

Tax: Litigation
Marta MacDonald



The Chambers Canada Awards reflect a law firm’s pre-eminence in key practice areas. They also reflect notable achievements over the past 12 months including outstanding work, impressive strategic growth and excellence in client service.

Chambers Canada rankings are based on comprehensive research of lawyers and law firms practicing nationwide. The annual guide recommends individuals and firms from more than 49 specialist practice areas. You can learn more about the methodology process and find additional details for this guide on the Chambers and Partners website.


Press Contact