73% of Torys’ Canadian partners ranked by Chambers Canada

September 16, 2020

Torys is delighted to announce that 73%—the highest percentage among Canada’s leading law firms—of our Canadian partners have been recognized in the 2021 edition of Chambers Canada. This year, 92 of our lawyers were recognized by the publication. 

Additionally, 12 Torys practice groups received Band 1 rankings in the following areas:

  • Banking & Finance: Financial Services Regulation
  • Corporate/Commercial: The Elite (Ontario)
  • Corporate/M&A
  • Dispute Resolution: Class Actions (Defence)
  • Energy Provincial Regulatory (Ontario)
  • Energy: Power
  • Insurance: Transactional & Regulatory
  • Investment Funds: Fund Formation
  • Life Sciences
  • Litigation General/Commercial: Ontario
  • Private Equity: Buyouts & Venture Capital Investment
  • REITs

“This is an outstanding achievement and testament to the caliber and depth of our team,” Managing Partner Matthew Cockburn said.

Chambers Canada rankings are based on comprehensive research of lawyers and law firms practicing nationwide. The annual guide recommends individuals and firms from more than 49 specialist practice areas.

A full list of Torys’ recognized lawyers is below.

Aboriginal Law
The Honourable Frank Iacobucci CC, QC, LLD, LSM

Banking & Finance
Amanda C. Balasubramanian
Adam E. Delean
Kevin A. Fougere
Tom Zverina

Banking & Finance: Financial Services Regulation
Blair W. Keefe
Eli Monas

Cannabis Law
Eileen M. McMahon

Capital Markets: Debt & Equity
Scott R. Cochlan
Glen R. Johnson
Rima Ramchandani

Capital Markets: Securitisation
Michael K. Feldman
Jim S. Hong

Dany H. Assaf
Omar Wakil

Competition/Antitrust: Litigators
Linda M. Plumpton

Corporate/Commercial: Alberta
Janan Paskaran
Neville Jugnauth
Stephanie Stimpson

Corporate/Commercial: Ontario
Ricco Bhasin
Matthew W. Cockburn
John Emanoilidis
Karrin Powys-Lybbe
Cornell C. V. Wright

Dispute Resolution: Arbitration
Myriam Seers
John A. Terry

Dispute Resolution: Class Action (Defence)
Sheila R. Block
Patricia D. S. Jackson
William McNamara
Linda M. Plumpton
Sylvie Rodrigue, Ad. E.

Dispute Resolution: Most In Demand Arbitrators
The Honourable Frank Iacobucci CC, QC, LLD, LSM

Employment & Labour
Lisa Talbot

Energy & Natural Resources: Mining
Michael D. Amm
Michael Pickersgill

Energy Provincial Regulatory
Luigi Cusano
Charles Keizer

Energy: Oil & Gas (Transactional)
Chris Christopher 
David Cuschieri
Derek Flaman

Energy: Power (Regulatory)
Luigi Cusano
Charles Keizer

Energy: Power (Transactional)
Valerie Helbronner
Krista F. Hill

Tyson Dyck
Michael J. Fortier
Dennis E. Mahony

Information Technology
Adam S. Armstrong
Jessica Bishop
Ebad Rahman
Joel Ramsey
Steven Slavens

Insurance: Transactional & Regulatory
Blair W. Keefe
Jill McCutcheon

Intellectual Property
Edward Fan
Eileen M. McMahon
Michelle Nelles

Intellectual Property: Litigation
Andrew Bernstein
Andrew M. Shaughnessy

International Trade/WTO
John A. Terry

Investment Funds: Fund Formation
Jamie Becker
Shannon Gotfrit
Cameron Koziskie
Bernard Kwasniewski

Life Sciences: Corporate/Commercial
Cheryl V. Reicin

Life Sciences: Regulatory/Compliance
Eileen M. McMahon
Teresa A. Reguly

Litigation: Ontario
Andrew Bernstein
Sheila R. Block
Patricia D. S. Jackson
Linda M. Plumpton
James C. Tory

Litigation: Québec
Christopher Richter

Litigation: Product Liability
Sylvie Rodrigue, Ad. E.
William McNamara

Litigation: Securities 
Gillian Dingle
John Fabello
Andrew Gray

Pensions & Benefits
Scott Bell
Mitch Frazer
Susan Nickerson
Tom Stevenson

Privacy Data Protection
Molly Reynolds

Private Equity: Buyouts
Michael F. E. Akkawi
Guy Berman
Matthew W. Cockburn
Laurie N. Duke

Project Finance
Daniel A. Ford
Scott A. Kraag

Projects: PPP
Mark W. S. Bain
Josh Van Deurzen

Real Estate: Ontario
Rose Bailey
David A. Dell
Sabrina A. Gherbaz
Graham Rawlinson
Charlene Schafer

Real Estate" Nationwide
David A. Dell

Simon C. Knowling
Michael Zackheim

David Bish
Scott A. Bomhof
Tony DeMarinis
Adam Slavens

Corrado Cardarelli
Craig Maurice
Jerald M. Wortsman
John Tobin

Tax: Litigation
Marta MacDonald

Press Contact