The rise of renewables

Torys webinar

June 24, 2021 10:00 - 11:00 MT

Western Canada’s transformation was already underway before the pandemic, and the crisis is serving to expedite changes to the region’s economic and commercial profile. A rebalancing of energy mixed with a growing focus on renewables, greener opportunities, and nontraditional sectors to the region are influencing how businesses approach everything from distressed transactions to ESG considerations.

Join our Western Canada series where our Calgary lawyers, along with industry guests and Torys lawyers from other offices, will lead candid discussions on the evolving state of business in Canada’s West.

As companies from Alberta’s traditional industries adapt to Canada’s shifting energy priorities, consideration needs to be given to their plan for energy transition. Join this session and hear from Torys’ lawyers and industry experts to better understand how companies are “greening” their portfolios. This session will discuss the growing trend of renewable power purchase agreements, financing strategies, developer considerations, industry hurdles and other challenges companies on a similar path should consider

Time: 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. MDT (12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. EDT) presentation
9:45 a.m. MDT (11:45 a.m. EDT) webinar opens

Guest speakers: Craig Mathison, Director, Project Finance, ATB Financial
Brad West, Director, Commercial Management and Operations, Renewable Energy, Suncor Energy

Click here to register

Other sessions in this series:

Tags:

Meet the Speakers