Student Program

Meet Our Students

Please feel free to contact any of our students if you have questions about our program.

Our 2021-2022 Calgary Articling Students:

Vanessa Fisher
vfisher@torys.com | 403.776.3773
Undergrad: UBC – Bachelor of Arts (Religion, Literature, and the Arts, graduated in 2008)

Interests: I have an insatiable curiosity for learning new things. Prior to law school, I completed an undergraduate degree in World Religions and spent several years traveling to sacred sites across the world.

Logan Orr
Lorr@torys.com | 403.776.3774
Undergrad: Western University – Bachelor of Arts, Honors Business Administration (HBA) with Distinction (graduated 2017)

Interests: I enjoy playing and watching sports, reading and being outdoors.

Austin Sevalrud
asevalrud@torys.com | 403.776.3743
Undergrad: University of Alaska-Anchorage – Honours Bachelor of Business Administration (Finance, graduated in 2016)

Interests: I play hockey as often as I can. I like to sweat and I like being outside, so I run, hike, climb, and ski. I enjoy reading and taking board games too seriously. My wife and I share a passion for good food, good coffee and good dogs.

Julie Treleaven
jtreleaven@torys.com | 403.776.3747
Undergrad: Queen’s University – Honours Bachelor of Science (Life Sciences, graduated in 2017)

Interests: My hobbies include running, travelling and dancing in my living room.

Our 2021 Calgary Summer Students:

Amelia Harman
aharman@torys.com | 403.776.3775
Masters: University of Calgary – Master of Public Policy (Expected graduation 2022) Undergrad: University of Calgary – Bachelor of Arts (Law and Society, graduated in 2018)

Interests: I enjoy summer and winter camping, hiking, snowshoeing, volunteering in the community, and hanging out with my French Bulldog Hudson.

Jack Kuzyk
jkuzyk@torys.com | 403.776.3778
Undergrad: University of Western Ontario –Honours Bachelor of Arts (Economics, graduated in 2020)

Interests: My personal interests include traveling, lifting weights, meditating, and reading news articles about the Boston Celtics.

Chiara Lasquety
clasquety@torys.com | 403.776.3754
Undergrad: University of Alberta – Bachelor of Commerce (Business Economics and Law, graduated in 2019)

Interests: My interests include all things sports! I grew up playing soccer, volleyball and basketball and I love watching the NHL (huge Oilers fan) and the NBA in my spare time.

Bilal Qureshi
bqureshi@torys.com | 403.776.3769
Undergrad: University of Calgary – Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting, Co-operative Education Program, graduated in 2018)

Interests: I am an ice cream connoisseur and as a result am always required to be on a diet. I enjoy playing/watching basketball, playing video games, and eating delicious food!

Gordon Walters
gwalters@torys.com | 403.776.3751
Undergrad: McGill University (2015-2017) University of Calgary (2014-2020)– Bachelor of Arts with Distinction (Psychology, graduated in 2020)

Interests: I enjoy playing hockey, squash, skiing, running, hiking, and all things outdoors. I also have an unhealthy obsession with golf when the season begins. I enjoy reading and listening to podcasts.

Our 2021 Montréal Summer Students:

Sophie Brat, University of Montreal
sbrat@torys.com | 514.868.5629
Undergrad: McGill University – Bachelor of Commerce (graduated in 2017)

Interests: I am passionate about movies, books, board games, diving and mythology.


Moustapha Chein, University of Montreal
mchein@torys.com | 514.868.5630
PhD: Université de Bourgogne (Doctorant chercheur à l’université de Bourgogne, au sein du laboratoire CREDIMI/CNRS, graduated in 2018); Other: Université Picardie Jules Vernes, Amiens, France – Master 2 en droit des Contentieux (graduated in 2012); Université Picardie Jules Vernes, Amiens, France – Master 1 en droit des Affaires et bancaire (graduated in 2011); Université Picardie Jules Vernes, Amiens, France – Licence en droit public et privé (graduated in 2010)

Interests: I love jazz and soul music from the 60s. My favorite drink is Turkish Coffee and my favorite food is Méchoui à l'Agneau.

Sara Tadayyon, McGill University
stadayyon@torys.com | 514.868.5631
CEGEP: Marianopolis College (Health Sciences, graduated in 2018)

Interests: I’m an amateur baker and graphic designer. In my free time, I enjoy trying recipes from around the world, learning to draw, and I also love to travel!

Our 2021 Toronto Summer Students:

Robin Asgari, Dalhousie University
rasgari@torys.com | 416.865.7640
Undergrad: UBC – Masters of Science (Political Science and International Relations, graduated in 2018)

Interests: I’m a big soccer fan and played for many years growing up. I also love basketball and try to catch a Raps game whenever I can. I enjoy cooking and trying new and challenging recipes.

Nicole Beausoleil, University of Ottawa
nbeausoleil@torys.com | 416.865.7679
Undergrad: McGill University – Honours Bachelor of Arts (Psychology and History, graduated in 2019)

Interests: My interests include basketball the NBA and true-crime documentaries. One of my goals for this summer is to learn how to cook.

Madeleine Beaudry, Osgoode Hall Law School
mbeaudry@torys.com | 416.865.8238
Undergrad: Queen’s University – Honours Bachelor of Commerce (graduated in 2017)

Interests: I enjoy all things active and outdoors. I spend my spare time skiing, hiking and adventuring to new coffee spots on my road bike.

Mackenzie Birchard, Queen's University
mbirchard@torys.com | 416.865.8160
Undergrad: Queen’s University – Honours Bachelor of Commerce (graduating in 2021)

Interests: I love exploring the outdoors and being on the water.

Rivannah Brown, Western University
rjbrown@torys.com | 416.865.7506
Undergrad: King’s University College at Western University– Masters of Science (Neuroscience, graduated in 2020). Honours Bachelor of Arts (Criminology, graduated in 2017)

Interests: In my spare time I enjoy running, working out, travelling and eating popcorn.

Louis Caramanna, Queen's University
lcaramanna@torys.com | 416.865.7304
Undergrad: University of Toronto – Honours Bachelor of Science (Mathematics, Italian Literature, graduated in 2019)

Interests: Avid cyclist, love long walks, very passionate about mathematics, and a Toronto Maple Leafs fan.

Leora Chapman, University of Toronto
lchapman@torys.com | 416.865.7976
Undergrad: Western University – Honours Bachelor of Health Sciences (graduated in 2018)

Interests: In my free time, I enjoy indoor cycling and cooking, and am a new tennis player and fan.

Kylie De Chastelain, University of Toronto
kdechastelain@torys.com | 416.865.7681
Masters: University of Oxford – Masters of Philosophy (Development Studies, graduated in 2016) Undergrad: Mount Allison University – Honours Bachelor of Arts (Canadian Studies and Sociology, graduated in 2014)

Interests: I love gardening (I’m hoping to set up a really great balcony garden this summer), hiking, listening to podcasts (The Book Review from the New York Times is my favorite), reading fiction, and cooking.

Kassandra Desmarais, University of Montreal
kdesmarais@torys.com | 416.865.7351
Undergrad: Queen’s University – UBC – Honours Bachelor of Commerce (Finance, graduated in 2019)

Interests: Exploring new coffee shops and restaurants,True crime novels and TV shows, board games and playing cards (especially Catan and Tock).

Aaron Good, Western University
agood@torys.com | 416.865.8115
Undergrad: Western University - Bachelor of Arts, Honours Business Administration (Ivey Business School - ongoing, completed 2 years of study in Economics, graduating in 2022)

Interests: Almost all of my time not studying is typically spent playing (mostly golf), watching the Leafs, talking about, and listening to other people talk about all things sports. I love spending time at my family cottage in Muskoka.

Mitchell Hayes, University of Toronto
mhayes@torys.com | 416.865.7656
Undergrad: University of Saskatchewan – Honours Bachelor of Commerce (Finance specialization, graduated in 2019)

Interests: I enjoy recreational sports like hockey, football, skiing and I strive to improve my impressively inconsistent golf game. I also spend my time living through the agony of watching my favourite professional sports teams invariably underperform.

Keira McKee , Western University
kmckee@torys.com | 416.865.7646
Masters: Ryerson University – Masters of Molecular Science (graduated in 2018) Undergrad: Queen’s University – Honours Bachelor of Science (Biology, graduated in 2015)

Interests: I love anything basketball-related - whether it's playing a pickup game with friends or cheering on the Raptors.

Kevin Miri , University of Toronto
kmiri@torys.com | 416.865.7826
Masters: University of Toronto – MBA Candidate (anticipated graduation in 2022). Undergrad: York University – Honours Bachelor of Business Administration (Accounting & Finance, graduated in 2018)

Interests: A few of my personal interests include basketball, swimming, MMA, Settlers of Catan, and binge watching psychological thriller movies.

Natalie Miller , University of Toronto
nmiller@torys.com | 416.865.8104
Masters: Western University – Western University – Honours Bachelor of Business Administration (graduated in 2019)

Interests: At school, my favourite activities include working as a caseworker at Downtown Legal Services and volunteering for the 519 through PBSC. Outside school, I love “outdoorsy” activities like hiking and skiing, trying new workout classes, live music (pre-COVID), playing board games (during COVID), and spending time with family and friends.

Harleen Pentlia, Osgoode Hall Law School
hpentlia@torys.com | 416.865.8112
Undergrad: University of Waterloo – Honours Bachelor of Arts (Arts, Business and Legal Studies, graduated in 2019)

Interests: My interests include yoga, exploring music and art, and engaging in feminist advocacy throughout my community. Always curious, I enjoy conducting research through semi-structured and unstructured interview methods.

Sarah Rimer , Osgoode Hall Law School
srimer@torys.com | 416.865.8188
Postgraduate: Syracuse University – Honours Bachelor of Arts (Economics and International Relations, graduated in 2019)

Interests: I enjoy traveling, listening to music, and watching sports (especially Syracuse basketball & football).

Sarah Sanders , Mcgill University
ssanders@torys.com | 416.865.8209
Undergrad: University of Cambridge – Honours Bachelor of Law (graduated in 2019). McGill University – Honours Bachelor of Arts (Liberal Arts & French Language, graduated in 2017)

Interests: I enjoy yoga, trying new restaurants, Korean dramas, and playing poker.

Emily Stauffer , Queen's University
estauffer@torys.com | 416.865.8215
Masters: Wilfred Laurier University – Masters of Arts (Social Justice and Community Engagement, graduated in 2019). Undergrad: Honours Bachelor of Arts (International Relations, graduated in 2018)

Interests: I enjoy collecting and taking care of houseplants, going for bike rides and running.

Nash Vijayan, Queen's University
nvijayan@torys.com | 416.865.7958
Undergrad: Ryerson University – Honours Bachelor of Arts (Media Production, graduated in 2019)

Interests: I am an avid world traveller and cricket enthusiast.

Natasha Williams , University of Toronto
nwilliams@torys.com | 416.865.8964
Undergrad: Queen’s University – UBC – Honours Bachelor of Arts (International Relations & French, graduated in 2018)

Interests: My interests are watching sports, cooking and playing board games.