Anita Anand

Toronto: 416.865.8160
Fax 416.865.7380


LLM, 1996
University of Toronto
LLB, 1992
Dalhousie University
BA, 1991
University of Oxford
BA Honours (Political Studies), 1989
Queen's University

Bar Admissions

Ontario, 1994


Anita is a Scholar-in-Residence in our Toronto office. Anita is also full time faculty at University of Toronto Faculty of Law and is a highly regarded researcher, professor, writer and speaker in the fields of Canadian and Canada-U.S. comparative corporate, securities and governance law. She is returning to Torys where she articled and practiced (in the corporate law group) before moving into academia.

Anita is a Professor of Law and holds the J.R. Kimber Chair in Investor Protection and Corporate Governance. She served as Associate Dean from 2007-2009 and since 2010 has served as the Academic Director of the Centre for the Legal Profession and its Program on Ethics in Law and Business. She is a Senior Fellow and member of the Governing Board, Massey College and is cross-appointed to the Rotman School of Management and the School of Public Policy and Governance and serves as the Director of Policy and Research at the Capital Markets Institute.

Anita’s other academic appointments include:

  • J.R. Kimber Chair in Investor Protection and Corporate Governance (2016-present)
  • Director of Policy and Research, Capital Markets Institute, U of T (2017- present)
  • Cross-appointed to the Rotman School of Management (2017-present)
  • Senior Fellow, Massey College (2012-present)
  • Cross-appointed to the School of Public Policy and Governance (2009-present)
  • Fellow-in-Residence, C.D. Howe Institute (2014-2017)
  • Herbert Smith Visitor, University of Cambridge (2010)
  • Visiting Scholar, Bank of Canada (2009-2010)
  • Visiting Olin Scholar in Law and Economics, Yale Law School (2005-2006)
  • Visiting Lecturer in Law, Yale Law School (2005-2006)
  • Associate Professor, Queen's Law School (2003-2006)
  • Assistant Professor, Queen's Law School (1999-2003)
  • Assistant Professor (adjunct), Western Law School (1997-1999)


  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council awards (2018, 2011, 2006, 2001)
  • Law Foundation of Ontario Research Award (2016)
  • Trailblazer Award Canadian Association of South Asian Lawyers (2013)
  • Foundation for Legal Research award (2012)
  • Bertha Wilson Honour Society, Schulich School of Law (2012)
  • Best Paper in Managerial Finance (with Lynnette Purda and Frank Milne) from the International Journal of Managerial Finance (2006)
  • Canada-U.S. Fulbright Scholar Award (2005-2006)


An Empirical Comparison of Insider Trading Enforcement in Canada and the United States

Co-author, International Review of Law and Economics

Securities Settlements as Examples of Crisis-driven Regulation

Co-author, International Review of Law and Economics

Governance Complexities in Firms with Dual Class Shares

Annals of Corporate Governance


  • Board member, Economic Investment Trust Ltd. (2018-present)
  • Board member, Diversified Royalty Corp. ( 2018- present)

Memberships and Affiliations

  • Member, Securities Advisory Committee, Ontario Securities Commission (2018-2021)
  • Advisory Board, India Canada Association (2018-present)
  • Ontario Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee (2018-present)
  • Board member and Chair of Governance Committee, Diversified Royalty Corp. (2018-present)
  • Grant Review Committee, U.S.-Canada Fulbright Foundation (2017-present)
  • Board member and governance committee chair, Lighthouse for Grieving Children (2017-present)
  • Special Advisor to the Board of FAIR Canada (2017)
  • Member, Governing Board, Massey College (2016-present)
  • Member, Board of Trustees, Canadian Business Law Journal (2016-present)
  • Member, Province of Ontario Expert Committee to Consider Financial Advisory and Financial Planning Policy Alternatives (2015-2016)
  • Member, National Council, C.D. Howe Institute (2014- present)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Mowat Centre (2014-present)
  • Board member and corporate secretary, Saint Mildred's-Lightbourn School (2014-2016)
  • Board member, Oakville Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc. (2014-2016)
  • Member, Academic Advisory Board, Can. Coalition for Good Governance (2013-present)
  • Board member, Oakville Hospital Foundation (2013-2016)
  • Chair and board member, Canadian Museum of Hindu Civilization (2006-2007; 2012-2015)